top of page
win20192337

Finished magazine front cover, article and back cover +How I came to make the magazine

Updated: Mar 10, 2022


To get to my finished magazine I had to go through many different trials and tests to see what worked best. For my front cover I really struggled at first to know what would work best for the genre of magazine I was going for, and even the artist type that would be on the front. keeping the same theme and style of Esquire was also quite hard due to them usually changing things around most editions. After trying many different main images and colour palette schemes, I finally decided to go for a black and white theme. I chose this mainly due to how sleek and elegant it looks, just like how Esquire is presented. The main image directly addresses the readers, doing this makes them feel more included and therefore they will engage more with it, all due to him looked straight into the camera.


Now for my article pages inside that was one of the easier parts of the magazine to do. I already had an idea for this and I was quite sure on what it would look like straight away. For me, it needed to flow with my front cover and keep the same theme. So I went with a black and white colour scheme again but instead of having just plain white I trialed with a cream colour and thought that was what made it pop out the most so I stuck with it. Again, I used an image that directly addressed the readers for the same reasons as before. Finally, when I decided to use a QR code for my article I wanted something that would make the page look more exciting and interactive. The strapline saying 'Fashion Killa' references A$AP Rocky's hit song, so I decided to use the code as a link to that exact song. When someone scans it with their phone it will immediately start playing the song of Spotify.


For my last page it was the one with the least thought, as I wanted a simple watch advert. On nearly every single Esquire magazine it has either a perfume or watch advert. I did try different layouts and backgrounds to make it look less 'boring'. I ended up with a darker theme then the last two due to the watch having more steel/dark tones, using a bright background would of contrasted it horribly, therefore I decided sticking with a dark tone would compliment it best.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page